Jobs Events Advertise

FULL LIST: Record number of Indigenous MPs voted in to serve the Australian people

Tom Zaunmayr -

The Australian people have voted in nine new Indigenous representatives in Federal parliament for the next term, alongside two sitting senators. Six members are part of the Labor government, while two are returning senators sitting for the Greens.

For the Liberals it is a case of two in, one out, with Ken Wyatt losing his seat as Jacinta Price gains a Senate spot.

The result means an extra four Indigenous voices in parliament between both chambers - three in the House of Representatives and eight in the Senate.

In terms of representation, Indigenous members will account for 10.5 per cent of the 76 Senate seats, and 1.9 per cent of 151 House of Representatives seats.

That leaves total representation at 4.8 per cent, above the Indigenous Australian population of 3.3 per cent.

In the ruling Labor party Indigenous members make up 12 and 3.9 per cent of the Senate and House of Reps respectively, with a total party representation of 5.9 per cent.

The Liberal-National coalition has no Indigenous members in the House of Reps and two in the Senate, for a total figure of 1.5 per cent.

Voted in:

Linda Burney, NSW Labor Member for Barton and new Indigenous Australians Minister.

Marion Scrymgour, NT Labor Member for Lingiari.

Gordon Reid, NSW Labor Member for Robertson.

Lidia Thorpe, Greens Senator for Victoria and spokeswoman for Indigenous Affairs.

Dorinda Cox, Greens Senator for Western Australia.

Malarndirri McArthy, Labor Senator for Northern Territory.

Jacinta Nampijinpa Price, Country Liberal Senator for Northern Territory.

Jana Stewart, Labor Senator for Victoria.

Kerrynne Liddle, Liberal Senator for South Australia

Existing Senators:

Pat Dodson, Labor Senator for Western Australia

Jacqui Lambie, Jacqui Lambie Network Senator for Tasmania

Voted out:

Ken Wyatt, Liberal Member for Hasluck and former Indigenous Australians minister.


Elaine Crombie set to bring the house down with Aboriginal Comedy All Stars
Pitjantjatjara, Warrigmal and South Sea Islander woman Elaine Crombie is set to...
Joseph Guenzler 12 Apr 2024
Coroner puts justice department on notice over inquest
A coroner has expressed alarm over the "unlivable, disgusting and inhumane" cell...
Aaron Bunch 12 Apr 2024
Jungaji releases new heartfelt single 'River Girl'
Gugu Yalanji songman Jungaji has released his new single 'River Girl'. The trac...
Joseph Guenzler 12 Apr 2024

   Tom Zaunmayr   

Roebourne's emerging business scene recognised at annual Pilbara awards ceremony
Ieraramagardu's (Roebourne) burgeoning local economic scene has been recognised...
Tom Zaunmayr 9 Nov 2022
Leading news role opens up as National Indigenous Times eyes further east coast growth
A rare opportunity to play a leading editorial role in a rapidly expanding news...
Tom Zaunmayr 8 Nov 2022
Know an emerging leader in your community? Nominate them for WA's Young Achiever Awards
West Australians are being urged to nominate young Indigenous champions who have...
Tom Zaunmayr 4 Nov 2022
A family and a team - Badu Island rugby league outfit playing for more than pride and trophies
Badu Island may be a speck on the Australian landscape, but at the Mackay Indige...
Tom Zaunmayr 3 Nov 2022